Pages Menu
Categories Menu

Posted by on Mar 20, 2014 in CONRIC, Events | 0 comments

Golden Halo Awards Finalists Announced During Surprise Classroom Visits

Golden Halo Awards Finalists Announced During Surprise Classroom Visits

Excellence in Christian education to be recognized at April 25 banquet                                                     

Twelve Christian school teachers were surprised recently when unannounced classroom visitors arrived to reveal each had been named a Golden Halo Awards finalist. The awards program recognizes excellence in private Christian schools throughout Southwest Florida. One winner per three grade levels will be announced at the awards ceremony and banquet at 7 p.m. April 25 at the Parish Life Center in Bonita Springs.  

Representatives of the Christian Chamber of Southwest Florida revealed the following finalists during the often-emotional classroom visits:

Rachel Norton-CCA

Grade 1-5

Tabitha Dillehay              Classical Christian Academy
Susan Mc Beath                Evangelical Christian School
Rachel Norton                  Classical Christian Academy
Christine Theriault          Royal Palm Academy

Jordan Lyerly SFCAGrade 6-8

Deneen Crandall             Village School of Naples
Marie Gibbons-Ebert      Saint Ann Catholic School
Jennifer Summer             Naples Christian Academy
Vicki Watson                        Classical Christian Academy


Abigail Vega-SFCAGrade 9-12

Kristen Baker      Southwest Florida Christian Academy
Dr. Lisa Garrett  Evangelical Christian School
Jordan Lyerly  Southwest Florida Christian Academy
Abigail Vega  Southwest Florida Christian Academy


The finalists were chosen from a field of 61 student-nominated teachers. Each will be treated to complimentary tickets and limousine transportation to the event, which features a keynote address titled “A Case for Christian Education” by renowned speaker, television host and New York Times best-selling author Lee Strobel. His book The Case for Christ is used by some area Christian middle schools as part of their curriculum. Guests will enjoy a silent auction and a moving video presentation of the classroom announcements. FOX-4 morning anchor Miriam Zamorano has been slated as the evening’s emcee.

The 8th Annual Golden Halo Awards are made possible in part with support of its presenting media sponsor WFTX – FOX-4, along with its other media partners, WRXY – CTN-10 and WAY-FM. Event sponsors include The Diamond District, Ross Martin- Ameriprise Financial, Garden Street Recycling, Busey Bank, Fort Myers Memorial Gardens, Sylvan Learning Centers and Edison National Bank.

Tickets, sponsorships and advertising opportunities are still available for the April 25 event, 7 p.m. at Parish Life Center, 28388 Beaumont Road, Bonita Springs. Visit or call (239) 481-1411.

About the Golden Halo Awards

For the Golden Halo Awards, now in its eighth year, teachers from 60 Southwest Florida schools are nominated by their students for their ability to inspire, demonstrate Christ-like traits, help students overcome weaknesses and boost classroom morale, among other criteria.

Sponsorships from $1,000 to $10,000 offer various levels of advertising and promotional opportunities, which all include Web, social media and printed material advertising; event night recognition; table reservations and a meet and greet with the keynote speaker. To take advantage of these exciting opportunities, visit or call (239) 481-1411. Tickets are $50 per person for members of the general public. The twelve finalists will receive complimentary tickets.

Post a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *